Eileen's Life Lessons

Make me laugh

Posted on: June 14, 2011

I love to laugh. You’ll see me smile a lot but I don’t laugh out loud very easily, not like my friend Ivette. Her laugh is boisterous and contagious.

When I want to make myself laugh–real tears-rolling-down-my-face, can’t-catch-my-breath kind of laughter–I call to mind one incident in particular. (Unfortunately for my husband, David, it’s at his expense.)

A couple of years ago, I was on one of my many vitamin kicks, strongly encouraging everyone to consume a multi-vitamin after dinner. Always last in line, David took his and started chewing it–but it wasn’t a chewable vitamin. I think he confused it with the chewable vitamin C tablets that were the same color orange. The look on his face–see, I can’t even write about it without getting hysterical–was priceless. It’s an incident we joke about it our family on a regular basis.

A close second to the vitamin face in its power to make me laugh is my mother doing aerobics: At the height of the aerobic craze of the ’80s, my mom and I took classes at Peak Performance. I can picture her trying to catch up with the class, going the wrong direction, just like in the movies–that was my mother. Jazzercise in the ’90s was just as hilarious–she would always be a move behind. And when we’d exercise at home, we’d usually both end up on the floor convulsing with laughter.

If laughter is the best medicine, I guess those closest to me are doing their best to make me healthy.

Here’s wishing you a big belly laugh today!

Tags:

1 Response to "Make me laugh"

I am a firm believer that daily laughter works as well as vitamins to help extend our life (or maybe the extent of our life is just better).

Leave a Reply

Mid-Life Realizations & Reflections

43 years of life experience,
19 as a wife,
16 as a parent,
15 as a writer
= thousands of mistakes made,
lots of lessons learned (some learned more than once), and immeasurable amounts of grace received

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

