Eileen's Life Lessons

My own movie reviews

Posted on: August 31, 2011

I love movies. I especially love seeing new releases in the movie theater–it’s a whole different experience than watching HBO at home.

My movie buddies and I don’t have especially high standards for our movie selections. We go see every chick flick and teenie-bopper movie without consulting the critics’ ratings. After all, I have my own rating system that doesn’t really jive with the 1-4 stars or “thumbs up” notations. I rate movies on how many tissues I need to get through the touching scenes.

To appreciate my tissue counting system, you’ll have to understand that I am rather easily moved to tears. I’ve been known to cry at commercials and songs I hear on the radio, in church at my favorite songs or readings (my gentle husband seems to always have a Kleenex in his pocket for me), or if a speaker has hit on a topic I can relate to. But I’m especially emotional in the dark escape of a movie theater for some reason. I never enter a theater without at least two tissues.

Last week I went to see a Heartland Film Festival-recommended movie based on a book that I read, Sarah’s Key. I expected it to be a tear-jerker, as the book is about a young girl who escapes the concentration camps of the Holocaust. Turns out it was only a two-tissue movie. The directors didn’t rely much on their soundtrack, and apparently it is music that makes the emotional moments intensified for me. I’ve cried more during Disney films than I did during last week’s movie.

It is a little embarassing leaving the movie theater wiping my eyes, especially after seeing a Vince Vaughn comedy, so I try to play it off as my eyes having trouble adjusting to the light again. But we all know better–I’m just a sap!

2 Responses to "My own movie reviews"

The question is, did you cry at everything before you had kids? That’s when I became an emotional person. I cry at back-to-school night…how sad is that???? And when I look around, there is no one else crying.
Like your blog a lot!

Mel

Come to think of it, no. I think having kids opened up the well of emotions. My eyes are watery now just thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

Mid-Life Realizations & Reflections

43 years of life experience,
19 as a wife,
16 as a parent,
15 as a writer
= thousands of mistakes made,
lots of lessons learned (some learned more than once), and immeasurable amounts of grace received

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

